Raven Boys….

A couple of years ago I was browsing the shelves of Waterstones searching for a book with an attractive cover and I came across Maggie Stiefvater’s SHIVER. Twilight had just finished and I was a bit worried about reading something with another werewolf in it… I mean they can all get quite tedious after a while – but I thought I’d take the challenge and see what was inside.

So two years-ish later, I am on her 7th book and I’m still wanting more! I must admit, the first three books were so amazing I was expecting big things from her next series, and things did slide, so I was very apprehensive when I took this – however I was always waiting/trusting that she would bring herself back up to the same level as the Shiver trilogy. And fiannally she has!

Raven Boys was epic. I picked the book up, started turning pages and didn’t stop until I’d finished it! I was gripped throughout. Straight away I was in love with Blue, I wanted the Raven boys to be my friends, to hang out with me; I wanted to be part of their gang – it’s been a long time since I wanted to be in a book!

The ONLY downside was the very last chapter. Now, bearing in mind I was unaware that a sequel is to follow, I was very disappointed in the end. I felt as though Maggie had just given up on her story. Nothing was explained, things that I thought were going to happen didn’t, I felt as though half of the book was missing.

Chapter 47 – we were in the middle of the forest being told the King we’d been searching for was ours. Chapter 48 – we’re burying, digging up and reburying Noah’s bones?! It was very strange, I would have rather been left hanging on chapter 47. It does make sense that there is another book coming out, and it was the first thing I thought when I finished it, but it was a rather peculiar way to finish the story.

Despite this, Maggie Stiefvater is still one of my favourite writers, and I wait in anticipation for the sequel to this fantastic novel.

the-raven-boys-book-cover

Leave a Reply

