Game Change

Game Change is a political drama depicting the events of the 2008 US Presidential Election, specifically looking at Sarah Palin’s role as the Vice Presidential candidate and running mate of John McClain; her early rise to stardom and her subsequent meltdown, caught in the eye of the media.

Julianne Moore stars as the Alaska governor Palin, Woody Harrelson as campaign guru Steve Schmidt and Ed Harris as John McCain. The script was also written by ex-Buffy actor turned scriptwriter Danny Strong, and the drama has won a string of awards, particularly for Julianne Moore’s portrayal of Sarah Palin. She inhibits the Alaskan governor, capturing her mannerisms and the drawl of her voice even better than Tina Fey’s impressions of her on Saturday Night Live. Moore does a fantastic job of a showing a woman who dreams of a bigger and better life for her family, but is set in her ways because of the Alaskan life she leads. It shows events relatively realistically, as Strong reveals he spoke to many key witnesses who were around the campaign at the time. It shows Palin’s craving for power and to be the centre of the campaign as well as her sheer lack of knowledge on policy.  The drama is engaging, intelligently written and funny for all who dislike Sarah Palin and I would fully recommend it.

 

Steve Schmidt: Governor, I admit that this is a dysfunctional campaign, but THAT is what I inherited and I am doing my level best to help us win this election!
Sarah Palin: And that’s what I’m trying to do too, Steve, and all you’re doing is screwing me up! That’s all you’ve done this entire time is get in my way! And I am raising millions of dollars for this campaign; hundreds of thousands of people are coming to see ME speak! Not John McCain, God bless him, they are coming to see me! SO, if I am single-handedly carrying this…”campaign”… I’m gonna do what I want!  (Game Change)

Leave a Reply

