The Hobbit – Rachel’s Review

thehobbitflatcover

So, I know Kat’s already reviewed this but now that I’ve gotten round to reading it as well, I thought I’d chip in with my own review.

The Hobbit is a prequel to the Lord of the Rings trilogy in which we are first introduced to the world of Middle Earth through the eyes of Bilbo Baggins, a hobbit who sets upon an adventure of a lifetime with a company of dwarves to find their lost gold. The story is quite a short read and quite simple to follow, and after seeing the first film adapted I was anxious to find out how the book develops.

I was curious to find out just how much Peter Jackson had added into the film plot from other Tolkien sources and it seems he added in quite a number of different strands. Whilst the movie version follows the basic plot of the book, Jackson added in subtle hints and foreshadowing’s of the Lord of the Rings and also brought back members of the original cast such as Elijah Wood, Ian Holm and Cate Blanchett despite them not being in the book. Despite the comparisons I was making with the first half of the book, it was still entertaining, and I found myself omitting the same emotions through the book as I felt during the movie.

At the point where the film ended and I was entering the unknown in terms of not knowing what would happen next, the book really came into its own. I fell more in love with Bilbo – his courage, his quintessential British nature, his inquisitiveness and moral conscience. The other dwarves each became their own character instead of mingling in with the group and the book kept me engaged throughout. I’m not incredibly interested and excited to see the next two films and how they’ve adapted the rest of the novel and I can certainly recommend this book – a classic to those that like fantasy novels and therefore one that must be tried.

 

“Sorry! I don’t want any adventures, thank you. Not today. Good morning. But please come to tea – any time you like!” (The Hobbit)

Leave a Reply

