Life of Pi – Yann Martel

Life of Pi - Book review

Another of my poolside reads however this one was not intentional (a mix up in books I brought led me to have to rely on the little treasure chest that is created by other holiday goers – the hotel book stand). Although most were love stories or murder stories, this little gem shone out and I snapped it up before anyone else could.

I couldn’t wait to get into this book, the film having wiped the floor at the Oscars; I knew it must be good!

****SPOILERS****

I am so glad I didn’t spend £8 going to see this film at the imax, or any cinema for that matter. I knew the basis of the story – a young lad gets shipwrecked and all he has for company is a Bengal tiger. Post read I realise now that ‘basis’ is an understatement: that is the whole story. Over 100 pages of just being at sea – okay you built a raft; caught a fish and ate it; caught a turtle and ate that; blah blah blah. Unfortunately I can’t suppress the need to skip forward and see how many pages there are to go before the next chapter and so knowing there were 100+ between me and the next section of the book was soul destroying. But I persevered.

And I’m glad I did, because now I know I will never have to watch the film. As the story got going a thought crossed my mind ‘if this ends up as a dream I will be SO pissed off’ – well it wasn’t quite a dream but the ending did make me want to rip the book in half and throw it in the pool in a strop. Let’s just say I’m not a fan of endings like this – especially when the book hasn’t exactly been enticing me the whole way through.

Although I wouldn’t care to see the film, I would be interested to see what they filled the two hour gap with as I’m pretty sure this story would not suffice – but then maybe they just filmed him catching a lot of fish, which would be equally boring to watch.

In a way the story represents that of imagination and the imagination of the young, I could imagine my little cousin coming up with something like this after her summer holidays, and for that it is good. On the whole I was very disappointed with this one..a theme you can probably see running through my holiday book choice.

“To choose doubt as a philosophy of life is akin to choosing immobility as a means of transportation.” – Life of Pi

Leave a Reply

