Don’t Tell Mummy

034935-FC12

Toni Maguire tells the heartbreaking story of her past, and the whole time I am reading I have to keep telling myself that this.is.true. The book is so well written that it is so easy to forget that the events you are reading actually happened to her, constantly I had to keep saying to myself ‘this really happened, it really, really happened’. Following her through childhood, living with little money, an abusive father and a mother who won’t come to her rescue, Maguire’s past slowly unravels.

I would definitely recommend this book, it’s an insight into the terrifying horrors abused children are subjected to, and how it affects the rest of the family’s relationships. When I first read this I didn’t know there was a sequel and so I was very disappointed when I didn’t find out how she finally managed to escape her father – and I still don’t know. But now I am aware, I am desperate to find out so I shall report back at some point.

For the time being though, go and read this book, cry for Toni, and enjoy her finally found happiness.

Leave a Reply

